Register | Login
Attackpoint - performance and training tools for orienteering athletes

Discussion: no third runner

in: graeme; graeme > 2018-05-20

May 21, 2018 1:02 PM # 
Jon X:
that is not what the results say!
May 21, 2018 2:16 PM # 
Young Mr Eades went out for a second run, having already run first leg
May 21, 2018 2:36 PM # 
Brad, I think you are confusing Colin with his twin brother David!
May 21, 2018 2:58 PM # 
Och, not again. It's so confusing.
May 22, 2018 9:32 AM # 
Yes, we seem to have done a bit of loopholery. David went out in the mass start to avoid interfering with the race, but it seems we are allowed our total running time. Although we should be DQ for running twice, its not so clear that joining the mass start isn't a cunning ruse which could be exploited if a runner misses a handover.
May 22, 2018 10:28 AM # 
If I understand it correctly (I wasn't there), they had the finish punch for incoming runners before the handover, which creates the loophole - usually you have to handover before you punch.
May 22, 2018 11:04 AM # 
Yes, they did have the punch before the handover. But I wasn't expecting to hand over, so it wouldn't have made any difference.

The BRC rules about mass starts are pretty ambiguous, as opposed to the SRC which are a model of clarity :) but do allow the same loophole.

Teams participating in mass starts are fully competitive, and may be placed ahead of non-mini mass starters with final positions determined by total running time of team.

The idea was that if your runner came in while you were waiting for the mini-mass start, there was no advantage in dashing across the field to the changeover.

(where were you?)
May 22, 2018 11:37 AM # 
I was nursing my knackered knees, which don't much like terrain running at the moment :-(

And also doing some prep for next Sunday - are you not coming?
May 22, 2018 2:05 PM # 
No, off to Devon to see my parents.
May 25, 2018 8:38 AM # 
Just seen this thread. The team were marked n/c when I learned about Colin/David.

Punch before changeover gives a better measure of the incoming runner's leg time and if the outgoing runner is not there straight away, the delay is added to their time which seems fairer.

Punch after changeover gives the chance for runners to collapse before punching and the outgoing runner getting amazing splits for their first leg.

You are right when you say that going off in the mini-mass start was "a cunning ruse which could be exploited if a runner misses a handover". It isn't something we check for - perhaps we should, but there is enough to do!
May 25, 2018 1:35 PM # 
but there is enough to do!
Plenty enough for you to do, and thanks for doing it!
There is a protest system in case anyone cares about cunning ruses, but what's more interesting to me is what rule is actually broken.

Please login to add a message.