Register | Login
Attackpoint - performance and training tools for orienteering athletes

Discussion: 2018 OUSA Competitive Award Winners Announced

in: Orienteering; General

Mar 11, 2019 3:06 PM # 
The annual OUSA Competitive Awards are given to top American orienteers in several categories for outstanding competitive performance over the course of the past year.

This is the ninth year for these awards, and the fourth year that Orienteering USA members had the opportunity to vote for the candidates. The committee thanks all those who submitted nominations and who took the time to vote for your top OUSA athletes. We had a near-record number of votes cast this year! The vote totals were used as the main component in final award selection.

The Orienteer, Junior, and Comet of the Year award winners each receive a $500 travel grant to help them continue to improve their skills. Additionally, the Honorable Mentions in the three individual categories will receive $100 travel grants.

The Awards Committee would like to thank two anonymous donors for their generous contributions to the travel grants.

Here are your winners and honorable mentions. Congratulations to these excellent athletes! See the full announcement with photos and descriptions here.

Orienteer of the Year:
Winner: Greg Ahlswede (DVOA / Escondite Nature Sport, Spain)
Honorable Mention: Alison Crocker (CROC)
Honorable Mention: Anton Salmenkyla (CSU / Helsingin Suunnistajat, Finland)

Junior Orienteer of the Year:
Winner: Tyra Christopherson (COC)
Honorable Mention: Anthony Riley (DVOA)

Comet of the Year:
Winner: Keegan Harkavy (CSU/NEOC)
Honorable Mention: Sydney Fisher (SMOC)

Team of the Year:
Winner: U.S. Senior Team at NAOC
Honorable Mention: U.S. JWOC Men's Relay Team

Please contact me with any questions.

This discussion thread is closed.